img_4801
Wyndham Lewis – Edith Sitwell
img_4828
Vanessa Bell – Studland Beach

Whilst up in London to see the Delacroix I also took the opportunity to look round the National Gallery and Tate Britain Collections. I was particularly interested in seeing paintings from around the late 19th and early 20th Century to coincide with the introduction of a wider array of paint colours and dyes but before the introduction of acrylic paints in the 1950s. This period also coincides with an interesting time for textile design, particularly the Interwar period, which I am focusing upon as part of my research.

During this time ‘good’ design was being championed, in particular the art and craft of making. New techniques such as silk screen printing were being incorporated with the bold and block colour designs that accompanied them. And changes in economic circumstances meant that many artists turned to design, and frequently textile design, to earn a living. Below are a few photographs that I took during my visit. I was looking at them in terms of colour and I find it interesting that I came away with a selection of images that are all so varied in style but commonly have these strong colour focal points.

I also managed to take a look at some Neo-Impressionist paintings which I was interested in seeing because of the partitive approach they used to creating colour, where marks of colours were intentionally placed in close proximity to build up a sensation of colour when viewed at a certain distance. Images below by Georges Seurat, Claude Monet, Pierre-Auguste Renoir, Theo van Rysselberghe and Camille Pissarro. The photos really don’t do them justice and I would strongly encourage anyone finding themselves near Trafalgar Square to head in and see them.

