Nathalie Du Pasquier is an artist and designer whose style is bold, geometric, a little bit 1980s and has been influenced by the Arts and Craft Movement, African Textiles and the Wiener Werkstratte (although which specific African Textiles the curator doesn’t specify). I was really pleased to come across her show at the Kunsthalle space at the Museum Quarter in Vienna.

I don’t want to lump Du Pasquier into some feminist diatribe but her paintings and objects (installations and design work)  really connected with me.  You can imagine her thinking right I want to paint, I’m going to make a painting of the kitchen units, I don’t like this room I’m going to design a rug for it. The shape of the corner of that room, with the furniture there, that’s interesting, I’m going to make a piece about it. These are geometric, block coloured shapes, pilled on top of each other, tumbling precariously over each other, stacked alongside, one after the other. The painted grey sculptural shapes taking away all recognisable colour or pattern, concentrating on form, silhouette style. Wallpaper, followed by funky sofa, followed by squares of what could be pattern designs broke up the space which was divided into small rooms.

I suppose you are inspired by what is around you and for me I felt that these were the objects that Du Pasquier depicts. And it looks amazing. I spend the vast majority of my time herding a toddler around my house, whilst thinking and researching and reflecting, but that connection with creativity isn’t lost. It’s there, it’s in everything, and I was so pleased to find, as I’ve already said I think , this exhibition on my first day in a while on my own, wandering round a gallery, in a beautiful foreign city, exploring, with just me. Me, myself and no one else. I even enjoyed a coffee on my own and several visits to the loo. On my own. It was baskingly amazing. And I totally fell in love with Du Pasquier too. Perhaps more so because I felt myself reflected in her work. And it challenged me to go home and relook and revisit what I do too.

And I’ve probably got it all wrong and her work is nothing to do with the domestic interiors  or womanhood. Perhaps the objects, back to the autonomous object theme, were just telling me what I needed to here. Either way.

The second exhibition at Kunsthalle was Beton about the use of concrete in architecture in 1950s and 60s. It didn’t quite inspire me as much but I took a few photos of things that seemed to have colour resonance.

